The Avondale Amateur; 29 January – 1 February 2019


2019 Avondale Amateur – Entries are now open




2018 Final round wrap

Blake Windred from The Australian Golf Club has outlasted the field on Australia Day to claim the 2018 Avondale Amateur. With seven players holding at least a share of the lead over the course of the back nine, it was anyone’s tournament for most of the afternoon.

In the end it was Windred who navigated some treacherous pin placements and the pressure of the back nine, shooting a final round of 70 which included 6 birdies for a one shot victory (-6) over a fast finishing David Hague. The Englishman and 74th ranked Amateur in the world, caught fire on the back nine with 4 consecutive birdies from 12-15, and posted the clubhouse lead after a brilliant birdie at the last hole. He was denied by Windred following his classy up and down from the back bunker on 18 sealing his 1 stroke victory.

Jack Thompson from The Grange shared fourth with Indonesian Naraajie Ramadhanputra on -4, with overnight leader Grant Booth a further stroke back on -3.

In the Ladies event, Japan’s Suzuka Yamaguchi won the Avondale Amateur by a commanding 6 strokes after a solid closing round of even par 72. Yamaguchi fought off an early stumble and challenges from Avondale’s Grace Kim and Doey Choi from Concord Golf Club. Yamaguchi and Kim were tied for the lead after a 2 shot swing on the first hole, however after bogeys to Kim on the 3rd and 6th holes Yamaguchi was never headed. Kim finished with a 76 and outright second place, with Choi matching Yamaguchi’s 72 finishing third.

Yamaguchi, fresh off her stunning victory in The Australian Amateur Championship found the Avondale Greens “incredibly difficult to read” however summed it up perfectly in the presentation – “I love Avondale”.

Golf NSW Coverage

For all of the photos, videos and interviews visit the Facebook page (for those without a Facebook account simply click “not now” when prompted to sign in)

Final Scores: 

Round 3 Wrap

Grant Booth from The Australian Golf Club leads the Avondale Amateur after 54 holes, finishing on 7 under par following a third round of even par 71. It was an up and down round for the University of Nevada star, offsetting 5 birdies with 5 dropped shots.Two late birdies, including one on the brutal Par 4 16th enabled Booth to keep his overnight lead as playing partner Indonesian Naraajie Ramadhanputra stumbled on the 18th with a triple-bogey 7. Ramadhanputra held the lead standing on the 18th tee, but now sits tied 2nd on -5 with Blake Windred (The Australian, 68). One shot further back is Jediah Morgan from Royal Queensland following a 68. The round’s early pace was set by Jack McLeod from Bonnie Doon, with a sizzling bogey free 7 under 64 vaulted him into contention just 4 strokes back. 

In the Ladies field, Japan’s Suzuka Yamaguchi clings to a 2 shot lead after a seesawing battle with local favorite Grace Kim. Both players found the going tough with some tricky pin placements early on the back side, but came home strong sinking birdies on the 16th and 17th holes. Yamaguchi, fresh off her stunning victory in The Australian Amateur Championship would love to add another title to her resume before flying back to Japan, but will need to overcome Kim and another local Amy Chu from The Australian in the last round.

Round 4 promises to be hotly contested, with the quickening Avondale greens providing a real challenge for some of the World’s best Amateur golfers.The final groups commence their rounds from 10.45am tomorrow, and are expected to finish at around 4.15pm with the Presentation to commence shortly thereafter.

Round 4 Draw

Stay tuned to the live video feed on the Avondale Amateur Facebook page

Golf NSW Article

Leaderboard & Live Scoring:…


web pic

2017 Avondale Amateur Wrap

Congratulations to our champions! Josh Armstrong won the Avondale Medal by 1 shot from Jack Singh Brar and Ga Young Lee won the Avondale Bowl by 13 shots from Somi Lee with a record 28 under par including a course record 61 (-11).

Thanks to all the members who volunteered and a special thank you to all the players who came and made it such a great event!

Please click here for the full leaderboard.

Since 1961 we have staged our Avondale Medal and over this time, thanks largely to the enthusiastic support and hard work of many members, our event has been regarded as one of the finer events in Sydney. Throughout this time we have also attracted many leading amateurs from both here and from overseas. However, due to the timing and ranking of our event we sometimes struggled to attract the best available amateur talent.

I’m very pleased to announce that we have been invited by Golf NSW to run a Nominated National Ranking Event, The Avondale Amateur from 23 to 27 January, commencing in 2017. Our event will run immediately following the Australian Amateur and immediately prior to the NSW Amateur, guaranteeing that we will attract the  best available amateur golfers from Australia and overseas.

Further, The Avondale Amateur will feature both men and women. The Avondale Medal, for men played over 72 holes of stroke play and The Avondale Bowl for women. The Avondale Bowl was established in 1951 with the aim of attracting low markers to play the course and enable spectators to watch them.

Next year being the 65th Anniversary of the Avondale Bowl, the Avondale Amateur not only provides us the opportunity to revisit the original plan for the tournament – attracting outside talent – it gives spectators the opportunity to see elite players competing on our course in top class event conditions. This event will also be played over 72 holes stroke, in conjunction with the men’s event.

Being given this opportunity by Golf NSW is testimony to the quality of both our golf course layout and it’s continually improved condition, a fact that many members also comment on. This opportunity will also reinforce our reputation as “The North Shores Finest Golf Club” and enhance our standing in the increasingly competitive golf market.

There is now much to do to ensure we deliver a first class event and we have already formed a Championship Committee, Chaired by Ian Skinner, with the support of Golf Operations Manager Tegan Purcell and the Match Committee. It is our intention to communicate regularly with members as details become known and request support/advice from our broader member community as required. 

I hope you will join with me in embracing this exciting opportunity to elevate Avondale’s standing in the Australian golfing community.

For your interest please click here to read the Joint Press Release just launched by Golf NSW announcing our event.

Stephen Cameron

Please click here for The Avondale Amateur Facebook page to stay up to date with all the action from the tournament.

2016 Avondale Medal Champion: Harrison Endycott (Avondale) – photo below


Please click here for the 2016 Avondale Medal Full Results.

2016 Avondale Bowl Champion: Celina Yuan (The Australian) –  photo below


Please click here for the 2016 Avondale Bowl Full Results

Avondale Golf Course

Trees and surrounding bushland play a big part here and accuracy is essential. The layout starts innocently enough but gradually builds up into a toughness that makes even the finest golfer think clearly and positively. Play anywhere close to your handicap at this beautiful course and you’ll drive away from the clubhouse a very happy player. TP

R&A comp nsw scratchlogo